Pajhwok Services

SMS News Service

Photo Service

Election Coverage

Special Mining Page

Afghan Peace Process Special Page

Addvertise With Pajhwok

Daily Newsletter

Sending Time (GMT / Kabul time)

Suggest a Story

Pajhwok is interested in your story suggestions. Please tell us your thoughts by clicking here.

Afghan, Pakistani MPs discuss anti-terror efforts

Afghan, Pakistani MPs discuss anti-terror efforts

Apr 30, 2017 - 12:09

PESHAWAR (Pajhwok): Pakistaninfo-icon has renewed its commitment to peace and stability in Afghanistaninfo-icon, seeking for constructive engagement with the neighbour on the issue of eradicating terrorism.

National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq, heading a parliamentary delegation, arrived in Kabulinfo-icon on Saturday on a two-day official visit.  Wolesi Jirgainfo-icon Speaker Abdul Rauf Ibrahimi and Senate Chairman Fazal Hadi Muslimyar received the team.

The 15-member delegation includes parliamentarians from various political parties. Ibrahimi and Muslimyar stressed the need for continuity of parliamentary exchanges for improved bilateral relations.

Sadiq told his Afghan counterpart that the visit of the high-level delegation was unprecedented and indicated the utmost importance Pakistan attached to its relations with Afghanistan.

“He reiterated Pakistan’s commitment towards Afghan peace and stability and urged the need of constructive engagement between the two countries for the elimination of common threat of terrorism”, the Foreign Office spokesman said. 

Sadiq expressed condolences to the Afghan side over the loss of precious human lives in recent terrorist attacks on Sardar Dawood Khan Hospital in Kabul and the Afghan National Army base in Balkh.

He also stressed the need for promoting trade and enhancing people-to-people contacts. He took the opportunity to extend an invitation to the Meshrano Jirgainfo-icon chairman to visit Pakistan.

Both Ibrahimi and Muslimyar praised Pakistan for hosting millions of Afghan refugees for more than three decades. The two sides agreed on the need for joint counterterrorism efforts.

The visiting team includes Raja Zafar-ul-Haq, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Akram Khan Durrani, Mir Hasil Khan Bazinjo, Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Awais Leghari, Naveed Qamar, Shafqat Mehmood, Ghulam Ahmed Bilour, Aftab Sherpao, Sahibzada Tariqullah and GG Jamal.



Related Article

Download “Pajhwok” mobile App, on your smartphone to read and access latest news, features, interviews, videos and photos about Afghanistan.


Add new comment



Twitter Update